Home Latest Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim Appointed 10th Malaysian Prime Minister

Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim Appointed 10th Malaysian Prime Minister

by ikalmayang

Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim appointed as 10th Malaysian Prime Minister Following the 5-day resolution after the 15th General Election (GE15).

After declaring a hung parliament following the GE15, the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong has finally reached a decision to appoint Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim as the 10th Malaysian Prime Minister.

This marks an interesting shift for Malaysian politics and by virtue, Malaysia in general. DAP Chairman Lim Guan Eng was reported to have said “He is the people’s choice. I believe Anwar will carry out his duties and uphold the constitution, forming a people-centric government for the benefit of all,” he told Free Malaysia Today. 


Political uncertainty and unrest have plagued Malaysians following the election, with Pakatan Harapan winning 82 seats, beating newly-formed coalition Perikatan Nasional by a sliver as PN raked in 73 seats last Saturday. Barisan Nasional, having obtained 30 seats, had issued a statement declaring its decision to remain as opposition and refusal to join neither PH nor PN to form a stable government. 

This has led to the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong to be the absolute decision-maker, and after deliberation has since appointed Pakatan Harapan chairperson, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim as the new Prime Minister of Malaysia. 

Istana Negara has issued a statement recently which can be read HERE.

You may also like