WhatsApp messaging service has added a new feature in the application which is Disappearing Messages. With this function, any messages sent to individuals or groups can be deleted automatically after seven days.
In a FAQ space on the WhatsApp website, this function can be turned on by the sender or recipient of the message for individual messaging. In a group chat, only the group administrator can turn on the Disappearing Messages function.
This function is arguably similar to the Snapchat or Instagram Stories function where any uploaded content will be automatically deleted after a set period of time. WhatsApp also lists scenarios where a message that should have been deleted does not disappear automatically, such as if the message that should have been deleted is forwarded to a recipient who did not activate Disappearing Messages.
WhatsApp also advises users to only use this function with trusted parties. Even if the Disappearing Messages function is turned on, the recipient can still take a screenshot or save any content sent through this function.